Clarence F. Stephens Distinguished Teaching Award

Seaway Section of the MAA Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics

2012 Recipient of the Clarence F. Stephens Distinguished Teaching Award:

Keary Howard, SUNY Fredonia

Keary Howard

What is the Award?

In 1991, the Board of Governors of the MAA established the Section Awards for distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics to recognize teachers of Mathematics at the post-secondary level who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful. Their teaching effectiveness must be documented and must have had influence beyond their own institutions.
Each year the Seaway Section Teaching Award Committee, appointed by the Chair of the Section, chooses a recipient for the Section Award from nominations by Section membership. The awardee is honored at the Spring meeting of the section with a certificate, an invitation to speak, and also becomes the official Section nominee for the MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. The national awardees (at most three) are honored at the January meeting of the MAA and receive a $1,000 check and a certificate.
In the Spring 2003 meeting the Seaway Section named the Distinguished Teaching Award after Clarence F. Stephens, developer of the Morgan-Potsdam teaching model.

Who is eligible for the Award?

The nominees must:
  1. Be a member of the MAA.
  2. Be a college or university teacher assigned at least half the time during the academic year to teaching a mathematical science in a public or private college or university (from two-year college teaching through teaching at the Ph.D. level) in the United States or Canada. Those on approved leave (sabbatical or other) during the academic year in which they are nominated qualify if they fulfilled the requirements for the previous year.
  3. Have at least five years teaching experience in mathematical science.

Who can nominate?

Any member of the Seaway Section of the MAA may nominate any other member of the Seaway Section for this award. However, self-nomination is not permitted.

How to nominate.

Send a nomination form and supporting information showing evidence of success in teaching. The nomination form and a description of the materials needed to document evidence of success in teaching is here.

You can help us identify those Seaway Section members who should be considered for this award. Nominate a colleague who is an outstanding mathematics teacher! Nominations for the section Distinguished Teaching Award should closely follow the guidelines for the national MAA teaching award. That facilitates the nomination of the section winner for the "Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics"

Past Recipients